Victoria

Edit
"Real People, Real Reviews"
 
Restaurant Name Suburb Overall Rating



Beach House Seafood Restaurant

451 Nepean Hwy Chelsea 3196 (03) 9776 2144

Reviewer

teddy1

February 21, 2009

based on 1 review

Reviewed on February 21, 2009, with an overall rating of 5 stars.
  • Food

    Fantastically fresh exquisitly presented, a total

    V
  • Fantastically fresh exquisitly presented, a total taste bud spin out.
    Left bursting at the seems and can't wait to bring everyone.
  • Service

    Relaxed and uncomplecated

    V
  • Relaxed and uncomplecated
  • Ambience

    Just as good as all the rest...

    V
  • Just as good as all the rest...
  • Overall

    One i wont forget!!!

    V
  • One i wont forget!!!

The Velvet Bar

331 Bay St Port Melbourne 3207 (03) 9645 1080

Reviewer

telis

February 10, 2009

based on 1 review

Reviewed on February 10, 2009, with an overall rating of 5 stars.
  • Food

    We went to the Velvet Bar in Port Melbourne, (in

    V
  • We went to the Velvet Bar in Port Melbourne, (in Bay St opposite the Town Hall) on a Saturday morning, the whole family for brunch. We ordered the pancakes, the Velvet Works and spanish omlette. The food was fresh and tasty, and couldn't believe how quickly we were served. Coffee was absolutely fantastic and smoothies and fresh juice were great.
  • Service

    Friendly staff willinging to assit.

    V
  • Friendly staff willinging to assit.
  • Ambience

    Clean, relaxing and funky.

    V
  • Clean, relaxing and funky.
  • Overall

    We're going back very soon, highly recommened - fo

    V
  • We're going back very soon, highly recommened - for kids as well.

James Squire Brewhouse

439 Docklands Dr Docklands 3008 (03) 9600 0700

Reviewer

NicoleMaree

December 29, 2008

based on 1 review

Reviewed on December 29, 2008, with an overall rating of 3.5 stars.
  • Food

    The food was good - the fish excellent, but very e

    V
  • The food was good - the fish excellent, but very expensive ($27.00) for a smallish piece of fish and a small salad. The half dozen oysters I had were not the freshest. Others eating at my table had the calamari which they said was quite good and another had a main meal of Kangaroo which was apparently very good.
  • Service

    There was only one server for four tables so the s

    V
  • There was only one server for four tables so the service was slow. Apparently the kitchen was busy with level one orders (we sat in the formal dining room).
  • Ambience

    A beautiful venue - overlooking the water. Very n

    V
  • A beautiful venue - overlooking the water. Very nice.
  • Overall

    A nice spot for a bit of brunch on a Sunday. Disa

    V
  • A nice spot for a bit of brunch on a Sunday. Disappointed with the main meals though - you had to order 'extras' such as veggies, or chips and the meals aren't cheap.

PJ's Pasta Cafe Bar

727 Burke Rd Camberwell 3124 (03) 9882 1143

Reviewer

MelbMan

December 17, 2008

based on 1 review

Reviewed on December 17, 2008, with an overall rating of 4.5 stars.
  • Food

    Last visit I had PJs fish and chips which comes wi

    V
  • Last visit I had PJs fish and chips which comes with a mango mayonaise dip for the fish and a very nice salad. Honestly you could not get better or fresher tasting fish anywhere than here. I think the owner told me he uses flake (from whales) and the taste is sensational
  • Service

    The service as PJs is always great. On most visits

    V
  • The service as PJs is always great. On most visits we seem to get the waitresses who are always very warm, very charming and with a big smile. Sometimes they are backpackers from o/s, sometimes not. Both the waiting team and the husband and wife owners who also do some waiting are dressed in black.
  • Ambience

    PJs has a glass front window like a shop, black wa

    V
  • PJs has a glass front window like a shop, black walls, a very large exhaust fan canopy over one kitchen in the body of the restaurant. It's warm, cosy and visually attractive. The chef in the restaurant kitchen is a bit of a sideshow as he cooks a lot of dishes in saucepans and frypans.
  • Overall

    There is no doubt in my mind this is the best Ital

    V
  • There is no doubt in my mind this is the best Italian cafe in Camberwell and probably foodwise the best there as well. Sun-Thu they have a $27.50 2 course + glass wine special. Just around the corner from the Rivoli CInema this is the perfect post movie or pre movie restaurant. Reasonably priced, very professional operators make this a real pleasure to visit.

Romeo's Of Toorak

450 Toorak Rd Toorak 3142 (03) 9827 2316

Reviewer

MelbMan

December 17, 2008

based on 1 review

Reviewed on December 17, 2008, with an overall rating of 4.5 stars.
  • Food

    I had an entree lasagne with a side salad, my dini

    V
  • I had an entree lasagne with a side salad, my dining partner Spinach crepes. I would have said when I first started eating that mine looked bland. But getting into a very generous portion for an entree the lasagne just got better and better. The side salad was a lovely crisp iceberg lettuce with tomato, cucumber, carrot and dressing. Once again it well and truly exceeded expectations. Crisp, fresh and wonderful to eat.
  • Service

    Service was excellent. Our waitress looked like An

    V
  • Service was excellent. Our waitress looked like Ann Hathaway and along with another waitress and waiter did not miss a trick. No need to raise your hand at Romeos. The drinks and food came out very very smartly to the outdoor footpath area where we dine.
  • Ambience

    So it's a cooler Dec night in Melbourne. Romeo's h

    V
  • So it's a cooler Dec night in Melbourne. Romeo's has tables on the footpath with clear plastic blinds between the diner and the road. Overhead on the underside were heaters that made dining on a cooler night outside workable. You could be on a Paris sidewalk. Romeos is always vibrant.
  • Overall

    No doubt Romeos is a bit of an institution in Toor

    V
  • No doubt Romeos is a bit of an institution in Toorak Village. I'd been past hundreds of times but last night was the first time I'd dined there. On all counts be it quality of food and beverage, ambiance, excellent service it's not hard to see why this is popular. Short of taking a trip to Paris, a meal at Romeos which is Italian in flavour is a great treat. For 2 with drinks we paid $65 total. I look forward to my next visit. This is certainly one of the best italian cafes in Melbourne!

Vessarios Restaurant

350 Nicholson St Fitzroy 3065 (03) 9486 9969

Reviewer

leemidd

December 14, 2008

based on 2 reviews

Reviewed on December 14, 2008, with an overall rating of 0.5 stars.
  • Food

    the food was ordinary at best, dolmades straight f

    V
  • the food was ordinary at best, dolmades straight from a can and dips straight from a plastic container. we never got to the mains because we left after a frustrating two hour wait.
  • Service

    3 different staff serving us and still managed to

    V
  • 3 different staff serving us and still managed to get the orders wrong and behaved like we were an irritation when we asked what was happening with our meals.
  • Ambience

    the only good part of the night was the accordian

    V
  • the only good part of the night was the accordian player playing christmas carols
  • Overall

    will never go back and will never recommend to any

    V
  • will never go back and will never recommend to anyone.

Siam Terrace

240a Dorset Rd Boronia 3155 (03) 9739 8882

Reviewer

rochefort

November 20, 2008

based on 1 review

Reviewed on November 20, 2008, with an overall rating of 5 stars.
  • Food

    The food at Siam Terrace is Authentic Thai. The Re

    V
  • The food at Siam Terrace is Authentic Thai. The Red Curry Duck is almost identical to the curries I had in Thailand. The Mussaman curry and Pad Thai are also really really good.

    The Roti with peanut sauce cant be missed!
  • Service

    Very friendly staff. It can be slow sometimes, but

    V
  • Very friendly staff. It can be slow sometimes, but the food is worth the wait.
  • Ambience

    Modern look restaurant, very comfy chairs. Can be

    V
  • Modern look restaurant, very comfy chairs. Can be a little loud if the restaurant is full.
  • Overall

    Siam Terrace is my favourite Thai Restaurant. The

    V
  • Siam Terrace is my favourite Thai Restaurant. The food is excellent, the service is excellent. Its worth a visit.

India Gate

3/ 1644 Burwood Hwy Belgrave 3160 (03) 9754 1622

Reviewer

rochefort

November 19, 2008

based on 1 review

Reviewed on November 19, 2008, with an overall rating of 2 stars.
  • Food

    For Indian food, the 2 curries we ordered were tas

    V
  • For Indian food, the 2 curries we ordered were tasteless and quite watery.
    It is the worst butter chicken, and korma I have tried at an Indian restaurant.
    The only flavor in the korma came from the coriander, and there wasn't very much of that. Very weak flavours.
    The Garlic naan looked like it was made with a garlic oil, similar to a pizza shop. Very oily, not overly garlicy.
  • Service

    Service was friendly, maybe a little on the slow s

    V
  • Service was friendly, maybe a little on the slow side.
  • Ambience

    Nice quiet restaurant. Set with a courtyard on one

    V
  • Nice quiet restaurant. Set with a courtyard on one side, and a reasonable view out the back windows. Furnishings were nice.
  • Overall

    With other quality Indian Restaurants in the area,

    V
  • With other quality Indian Restaurants in the area, you would be best to give this place a miss. Friendly service doeskin quite make up for the poor tasting food.

Medusa

Shop 2/ 1 Puckle St Moonee Ponds 3039 (03) 9370 8877

Reviewer

mutley

November 18, 2008

based on 1 review

Reviewed on November 18, 2008, with an overall rating of 0.5 stars.
  • Food

    My family and a few friend went to Medusa Greek Ta

    V
  • My family and a few friend went to Medusa Greek Taverna in Moonee Ponds to test them out for a christening that I needed to organise and everything was lovely. Then booked in for 50 people and the food was rubbish. Saganaki was burnt, bread was stale and hard as a rock, Calamari could not be chewed, meat was revolting and even the salads were not fresh. To top it off the beer was served HOT and the wine was no more than $1.99 per bottle. Complete waste of time and my money. Also cause a lot of embarrassment for my self and I feel really ripped off for $45.00 per head.
  • Service

    Service was okay

    V
  • Service was okay
  • Ambience

    Nice place pity about quality of food

    V
  • Nice place pity about quality of food
  • Overall

    I would never and neither would any of the guests

    V
  • I would never and neither would any of the guests that I had there go back to them for a meal. I would rather eat at our local pub.

Georgio's Seafood & Steak

Shp1/ 68 Princes Hwy Beaconsfield 3807 (03) 9707 3030

Reviewer

kessiebear

October 7, 2008

based on 2 reviews

Reviewed on October 7, 2008, with an overall rating of 5 stars.
  • Food

    The food was fantastic. We had the soup of the day

    V
  • The food was fantastic. We had the soup of the day (which was pumpkin) for entree which was really nice The fresh, warm, homemade bread they served was absolutely to die for, I'd go there just for that if I wasn't very hungry. And the steak was beautiful. I had the Georgio's Steak which was an eye fillet with seafood and creamy garlic sauce and it was wonderful! My husband had the 690gram steak and somehow got through all of it - he said it was fantastic!! Not to mention it only cost $33.00!! That's unheard of for even a decent, mid sized steak. You'd never expect to get a wonderful steak at 690 grams for that price!!
  • Service

    The head waiter (who also took our booking over ph

    V
  • The head waiter (who also took our booking over phone) is lovely! He spoke so warmly yet very professionally to us as he seated & came to check on us. The waitress who served us was very friendly, attentive & spoke to all the patrons in the manner best fitting them personally. Very impressed!
  • Ambience

    The restaurant looks gorgeous! Very nicely set out

    V
  • The restaurant looks gorgeous! Very nicely set out, fancy enough to feel classy yet not too much to seem snobby. Lovely melodic dining music playing at just the right volume to give background but not overrun our conversation.
  • Overall

    I can honestly say this would have to be the first

    V
  • I can honestly say this would have to be the first dining experience I've had that I haven't had even one little criticism about. The food was fantastic! The price was more than reasonable. The service was wonderful and the restaurant was lovely!! Actually I do have one thing to complain about - I didn't get to try the desserts!! :-)